Where are you originally from?

Danville, VA.

Whats the best memory you have from growing up?

We lived next to a farm growing up and I loved being around all of the animals and the grapevines. It was a fun way to grow up as a kid.

What person has meant the most to you in your life?

My daughter.

How did you learn about Speak Up?

I was really at a low place in my life and was battling some depression and homelessness. A SpeakUp vendor at that time sat down next to me and talked about the hope, opportunity and respect it had given him. It’s the best thing that has ever happened to me.

Where do you sell your magazines?

Wherever I can. I mainly sell them in NODA and around small businesses. Im looking to expand out into other areas.

Whats the most positive experience that has happened while selling Speak Up?

The most rewarding thing that I have experienced is bringing people in and seeing their lives change because of Speak Up. It is awesome to see their confidence grow and their circumstances brighten.

Are you dealing with any personal hardships right now?

I have some medical issues and am getting sick.

Whats your favorite place to (eat, hangout, ext.) in Charlotte?

There are a lot of nice people down by the common market. I also like the BBQ House across the street.

How do you like to give back to the community and others in need?

The best thing I can do is bring them in a place like this. It will help their life tremendously. Being a part of Speak Up has made me a much more selfless person.

Where are you staying right now? Sleeping tonight?

Im staying at my daughters apartment.

Do you have a car?

No. If you have two or three appointments in one day, it might take you all day because you have to take the bus everywhere. I cant do things on my own time. Luckily, my daughter has been letting me use her car to go get groceries when I need to.

Whats the most recent accomplishment youve made?

The relationship I have with my daughter is getting much better. That means the most to me because I love her so much.

During this time of transition and instability, what gives you comfort?

I know there is a God and I pray to Him. I know he hold me in His hands and will take care of me. I have seen as my relationship with God has grown, my circumstances have gotten better. Thats where my hope is.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Im older in life and have some health problems but this is my hope: to be healthy and finish my college degree, to better my financial situation, to finally have a car, and to have a restored relationship with my daughter.